Alex Somers (Captain Fantastic, AlohaManhattanDawson City: Frozen Time) has composed the original score for the upcoming drama Charm City Kings. The film is directed by Angel Manuel Soto and stars Jahi Di’Allo Winston, Meek Mill, Will Catlett, Teyonah Parris, Donielle Tremaine Hansley and Kezii Curtis. The movie is based on the documentary 12 O’Clock Boys and follows a young who boy as he joins the Midnight Clique, the infamous Baltimore dirt bike riders who rule the summertime streets. Sherman Payne, Chris Boyd & Kirk Sullivan and Barry Jenkins (Moonlight, If Beale Street Could Talk) wrote the screenplay. Caleeb Pinkett (Cobra Kai, After Earth), Clarence Hammond (Hala) and Marc Bienstock (Split, Glass) are producing the Overbrook Entertainment production. Jada Pinkett Smith, Will Smith and James Lassiter (Hitch, The Pursuit of Happyness) serve as executive producers. Charm City Kings will premiere next month in competition at the 2020 Sundance Film Festival and is set to be released in select theaters on April 10 by Sony Pictures Classics before expanding nationwide on April 17.

Somers also recently scored Alma Har’el’s Honey Boy, which is currently playing in theaters.