Johan Söderqvist (Let the Right One In, Kon-Tiki, After the Wedding) is composing the music for the upcoming Danish drama Daniel (Ser du månen, Daniel). The film is directed by Niels Arden Oplev (The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Flatliners, Dead Man Down) and stars Esben Smed in the title role, alongside Toby Kebbell, Anders W. Berthelsen (who also serves as a co-director), Sofie Torp, Christiane Gjellerup Koch, Jens Jorn Spottag and Andrea Gadegaard. The movie tells the true story of the ISIS kidnapping of Danish photographer Daniel Rye Ottosen, a freelance war photographer, who was captured by the Islamic terrorist group on May 18, 2013, and held prisoner for 13 months. Anders Thomas Jensen (In a Better World, The Salvation) wrote the screenplay based on based Ottosen’s memoir The ISIS Hostage: One Man’s True Story of 13 Months in Captivity. Morten Kaufmann (The Hunt, The Commune) and Signe Leick Jensen (Idealisten) are producing the project for Toolbox Film. Daniel will be released in Scandinavia this September. No word yet on a domestic distribution deal.

Söderqvist also has Dan Friedkin’s Lyrebird starring Guy Peace and the Norwegian drama Håp (Hope) coming up.