Last night, Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) held its annual Film, TV & Visual Awards at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills. Terence Blanchard was named BMI Icon in recognition of his significant contributions to the cinematic community. The composer who received his first Academy Award nomination earlier this year for his music for Spike Lee’s BlacKkKlansman and whose other scoring credits include Malcolm X, Inside Man and Red Tails was presented the award by the evening’s hosts, BMI Vice President, Film/TV Relations, Doreen Ringer-Ross and BMI President & CEO Mike O’Neill. Composer/pianist Herbie Hancock, as well as directors Spike Lee, Ron Shelton & Kasi Lemmons congratulated Blanchard via a tribute video.

William Ross accepting BMI’s Classical Contribution Award

Earlier in the evening, William Ross (Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Ladder 49, My Dog Skip) received BMI’s Classic Contribution Award for his outstanding work as an arranger, orchestrator, conductor, music director, composer and mentor to emerging talent. Several of Ross’ regular collaborators, including composers John Williams, Alan Silvestri & David Foster, singers Barbra Streisand, Celine Dion, Michael Buble, appeared in a tribute video congratulating him on his honor. Check back on this page for videos of both Blanchard’s & Ross’ acceptance speeches.

Throughout the evening, composers of music featured in the past year’s top-grossing films, top-rated network television series and highest-ranking cable network and streamed media programs were also celebrated. Among the composers who accepted their awards in person were this year’s Academy Award winner in the Original Score category, Ludwig Goransson (Black Panther, Venom, Creed II) and the winner of the Honorary Academy Award at last year’s Governor Awards, Lalo Schifrin, as well as Alan Silvestri (Avengers: Endgame), Brian Tyler (Crazy Rich Asians, Hawaii Five-O, Magnum P.I.), Tyler Bates (Deadpool 2The Punisher), Harry Gregson-Williams (The Meg, The Equalizer 2), Mark Mothersbaugh (Hotel Transylvania 3: Summer VacationThe LEGO Movie 2: The Second Part), Rob Simonsen (The UpsideBlue Blood), Kris Bowers (Green Book), Abel Korzeniowski (The Nun), Nathan Barr (The House with a Clock in Its Walls, Sneaky Pete), Michael Andrews (Instant Family), West Dylan Thordson (Glass), Peter Nashel (Book Club), Daniel A. Davies (Halloween), Philip White (A Madea Family Funeral), Christopher Lennertz (Lost in Space), Atli Orvarsson (Chicago FireChicago PDChicago MedFBI),  Mac Quayle (American Horror Story9-1-1),  Sean Callery (Bull), Mike Post (Law & Order: SVU), Blake Neely & Nathaniel Blume (The Flash),  Stephen Lukach (Sneaky Pete), Atticus Ross & Claudia Sarne (Animal Kingdom),  Jacob Shea (Alaskan Bush People), Craig Wedren (New Amsterdam), Barry De Vorzon (S.W.A.T.), Clinton Shorter (Code Black), Mike Fratantuno & Terence Yoshiaki (Madam Secretary), Charlie Clouser & César Dávila-Irizarry (American Horror Story), Tree Adams (NCIS: New Orleans), Alexis Marsh & Samuel Jones (Animal Kingdom), Snuffy WaldenPatrick A. Rose (Seal Team), Will Bates (The Looming Tower), Mike Shinoda (Into the Badlands), Halli Cauthery (Future Man),  Jared Faber (The Boss Baby: Back in Business), Jeff FranklinBennett Salvay (Fuller House), Joseph Stephens (The Last O.G.), Ronit Kirchman (The Sinner), Mark Rivers (Big Mouth), Les ClaypoolKevin Manthei (Robot Chicken), Shridhar Solanki (Andi Mack) and Jesse Nolan (Bosch). Click here for the full list of winners. Also in attendance at the event were previous BMI honorees George S. Clinton, Randy Edelman and Mychael Danna.

BMI Icon Award recipient Terence Blanchard and BMI Classic Contribution Award recipient William Ross (Photo credit: Lester Cohen/Getty Images for BMI)

From left to right: Alan Silvestri, William Ross, BMI President & Chief Executive Officer Mike O’Neill, Christopher Lennertz, Brian Tyler, Terence Blanchard, BMI Creative – Film, TV & Visual Media VP Doreen Ringer-Ross, Harry Gregson-Williams, Mike Post, and Atli Orvarsson (Photo credit: Lester Cohen/Getty Images for BMI)