jnh-iconLast night, Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) held its annual Film & TV Awards at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel in Beverly Hills. James Newton Howard was honored with the organization’s Icon Award, which is bestowed on composers who have made significant contributions to the realm of film and television music. The composer whose credits include such hit films as The Hunger Games series, The FugitivePretty WomanMaleficentBlood DiamondThe Dark KnightSpace Jam and My Best Friend’s Wedding was presented the award by the evening’s host, BMI Vice President, Film/TV Relations, Doreen Ringer-Ross and BMI President & CEO Mike O’Neill. Several of the composer’s regular collaborators congratulated him via a tribute video, including M. Night Shyamalan (SignsThe Sixth Sense), Francis Lawrence (I Am Legend), Barbra Streisand (The Prince of Tides), Tony Gilroy (Michael Clayton), Peter Jackson (King Kong) and Lawrence Kasdan (Wyatt Earp) who was also seated in the audience.

david-newman-bmiIn addition, David Newman was honored with the Classic Contribution Award for his advocacy of film music performances in concert halls, most notably through his work with the American Youth Symphony. The composer of such films as War of the Roses, Ice AgeMatilda, The Flintstones, Bowfinger and Heathers has previously received BMI’s Richard Kirk Award back in 2009. Composer Alan Silvestri who also attended the event, as well as film music journalist Jon Burlingame and IMG’s Steve Linder were featured in a video message congratulating Newman on his honor.

Throughout the evening, composers of music featured in the past year’s top-grossing films, top-rated primetime network television series and highest-ranking cable network programs were also celebrated. Among the composers who accepted their awards in person were Thomas Newman (Bridge of Spies), Brian Tyler (Avengers: Age of UltronHawaii Five-OScorpion), Tom Holkenborg (DeadpoolBatman v Superman: Dawn of JusticeMad Max: Fury RoadBlack Mass), Mark Mothersbaugh (Hotel Transylvania 2Pitch Perfect 2Alvin and the Chipmunks: The Road Chip, Vacation), Ludwig Goransson (Creed), Joe Kraemer (Mission Impossible: Rogue Nation), Ramin Djawadi (Game of Thrones), Mychael Jeff Danna (The Good Dinosaur), Christopher Lennertz (Ride Along 2My Big Fat Greek Wedding 2The Boss), Atli Orvarsson (The Perfect Guy,  Chicago FireChicago P.D.), Mac Quayle (American Crime Story), Andrew Lockington (San Andreas), Michael Andrews (Daddy’s Home), Trevor Morris (London Has FallenVikings), Jeff Beal (House of Cards), Gwendolyn Sanford (Orange Is the New Black), Fil Eisler (Empire), Mike Post (Law & Order: SVU), Blake Neely (The FlashSupergirl, Blindspot), Paul Haslinger Atticus Ross (Fear the Walking DeadRob Simonsen (Blue Bloods), David Buckley (The Good Wife), Brian Kirk (NCISNCIS: New Orleans), Keith Power (Hawaii Five-O), Tony Morales (Scorpion), Chad Fischer (Scandal), Rob Cairns (The Bachelor), Jay Vincent (Ninjago: Masters of Spinjitzu), H. Scott Salinas (Murder in the First), Joel Richard (Quantico), Dino Meneghin (Teen Wolf) and Ben Decter (Shadowhunters). Also in attendance at the event were previous BMI honorees George S. Clinton, Richard Sherman and Rolfe Kent. Check back on this page for video highlights from the event.


  1. Darren says:

    I am thrilled. The man is a genius.

  2. SDH says:

    An Oscar is long overdue. I can only hope he receives it for one of his upcoming projects, and not through some honorably recognition.

    On another note, David looks like he’s fresh off some wrestling ring! 😉