extantJeff Russo and Ben Decter are the new composers of the CBS series Extant. The show is created by Mickey Fisher and stars Halle Berry, Goran Visnjic, Pierce Gagnon, Camryn Manheim and Grace Gummer. Jeffrey Dean Morgan has also joined the cast of season 2. The show follows a female astronaut who discovers she has unwittingly put the human race on a path to destruction, and that she and a mysterious stranger may be the only hope for survival. The first season of the Amblin Television and CBS Television Studios production was scored by Marcelo Zarvos. The new season of Extant will premiere on July 1, 2015 and air every Wednesday night on CBS. For updates on the series, visit the official show website.

Russo’s other upcoming projects also include the second seasons of FX’s Fargo and Starz’s Power, as well as Spike TV’s mini-series Tut and USA’s Complications. Russo and Decter also co-scored CBS’ CSI: Cyber, which has just been picked up for a second season.