get-on-upPolydor/UMe will release the official soundtrack album for the biographical drama Get On Up: The James Brown Story. The album features studio and standout live versions of numerous soul/funk hits by Brown, including such songs as Please Please Please, Out Of Sight, I Got You (I Feel Good), Try Me, It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World and Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine. Also included are two previously unreleased concert recordings heard in the new film. The soundtrack will be released on July 29, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on AmazonGet On Up is directed by Tate Taylor and stars Chadwick Boseman, Viola Davis, Octavia Spencer, Nelsan Ellis, Lennie James, Tika Sumpter, Jill Scott and Dan Aykroyd. The movie scored by Thomas Newman tells the life story of the Godfather of Soul and follows the Grammy-winning singer/songwriter from his impoverished childhood to his evolution into one of the most influential figures of the 20th century. The drama will be released nationwide on August 1 by Universal Pictures. For updates on the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine
2. The Payback. Pt. 1
3. Out Of Sight
4. I Got You (I Feel Good)
5. Caldonia
6. Please Please Please (Live)
7. Night Train (Live)
8. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag, Pt. 1
9. It’s A Man’s Man’s Man’s World (Live)
10. Cold Sweat, Pt. 1
11. Mother Popcorn, Pt. 1
12. I Got The Feelin’ (Live)
13. I Can’t Stand Myself (When You Touch Me) (Live)
14. Say It Loud-I’m Black And I’m Proud, Pt. 1
15. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine (Live)
16. Super Bad (Live)
17. Soul Power (Live)
18. Try Me (Live)
19. Please Please Please
20. Get Up Offa That Thing

  1. Quppa says:

    Will Thomas Newman’s score be featured on this album at all?