railway-manVarese Sarabande has announced the details of the soundtrack album for the drama The Railway Man. The album features the film’s original music written by Academy Award-nominated composer David Hirschfelder (Elizabeth, Australia, Legend of the Guardians). The soundtrack will be released physically on May 27, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. The Railway Man is directed by Jonathan Teplitzky and stars Colin Firth, Nicole Kidman, Jeremy Irvine, Stellan Skarsgård and Hiroyuki Sanada. The movie follows a British Army officer who is tormented as a prisoner of war at a Japanese labour camp during World War II and discovers decades later that the Japanese interpreter he holds responsible for much of his treatment is still alive. The drama was released earlier this month by the Weinstein Company and is now playing in select theaters. For more information about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. The Railway Man — Opening Titles (2:41)
2. Brief Encounter (3:52)
3. The General Idea (2:40)
4. Fall Of The British Empire (2:12)
5. What Do You Think, Eric? (4:18)
6. His Whole Life Has Been Trains (3:41)
7. Building The Radio (1:57)
8. Discovering The Radio (1:19)
9. Axis Forces In Full Retreat (2:30)
10. The Bravest Thing I’ve Ever Seen (3:05)
11. The Death Railway (5:24)
12. I’m Going To Send Him A Message (2:31)
13. Bamboo Cages (1:27)
14. At The Beginning Of Time (2:19)
15. The War Graves (:47)
16. The Bad Things We Did (2:17)
17. The Drowning Room (2:24)
18. The Home Coming (4:32)
19. Maybe We Both Lived For This Day (6:55)
20. The Railway Man — Closing Suite (9:22)