cosmosA soundtrack album has been released for the docu-series Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey. The album features selections from the show’s original score composed by Academy Award nominee Alan Silvestri (Back to the Future, The AvengersForrest Gump). The soundtrack is now available digitally on Amazon. Check out audio clips after the jump. The album is the first of four planned volumes. Details on Volume 2-4 will be posted on this page as they are announced. Cosmos: A Spacetime Odyssey executive produced by Seth MacFarlane, Ann Druyan, Mitchell Cannold and Brannon Braga is the successor to the 1980 Emmy and Peabody Award-winning original series Cosmos: A Personal Voyage scored by Vangelis. The 13-part series is hosted by astrophysicist Neil deGrasse Tyson and explores how we discovered the laws of nature and found our coordinates in space and time. The show will premiere this Sunday, March 9 on Fox. To learn more about the project, visit the official show website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Cosmos Main Title (1:38)
2. “Come With Me” (2:02)
3. “The Cosmos Is Yours” (6:25)
4. Virgo Supercluster (4:06)
5. Multiverse (2:11)
6. Giordano Bruno (2:40)
7. Revelation of Immensity (3:59)
8. The Inquisition (3:36)
9. The Staggering Immensity of Time (2:14)
10. Star Stuff (4:14)
11. Chance Nature of Existence (3:28)
12. New Years Eve (3:50)
13. “Our Journey Is Just Beginning” (3:04)

  1. Kevin says:

    Any word on a physical CD release of this (and the future volumes)?