daniel-pembertonDaniel Pemberton has composed the score for the upcoming British comedy Cuban Fury. The film is directed by James Griffiths and stars Nick Frost, Chris O’Dowd, Olivia Colman, Rashida Jones, Ian McShane, Rory Kinnear, Wendi McLendon-Covey and Alexandra Roach. The movie follows a down-on-his-luck man who reignites his long-dormant passion for salsa dancing after falling for his gorgeous American boss. Jon Brown (Misfits, Fresh Meat) has written the screenplay. James Biddle and Nira Park (Shaun of the Dead, Hot Fuzz, Paul) are producing the project for Big Talk Productions. Pemberton has previously collaborated with the producers on Big Talk’s In Fear, which premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and which will open in British theaters next month. Cuban Fury is set to be released on February 14, 2014 in the UK. No word yet on a domestic release date.

Following his work on The Counselor starring Michael Fassbender, Javier Bardem, Penelope Cruz, Cameron Diaz & Brad Pitt, Pemberton has reunited with director Ridley Scott on the pilot for Showtime’s The Vatican. The show stars Matthew Goode, Anna Friel, Kyle Chandler, Ewan Bremner, Rebbecca Ferguson & Bruno Ganz and explores the relationships and political rivalries, as well as the mysteries and miracles of the modern-day Catholic church. Paul Attanasio (The Sum of All Fears, Quiz Show, Donnie Brasco) has penned the pilot’s script. Scott is also executive producing the project with Attanasio and David W. Zucker (The Good Wife, Numb3rs) for Scott Free Productions. Showtime is expected to announce shortly if The Vatican will be picked up to series.

Opening this Friday, October 25 nationwide is Pemberton’s first collaboration with Scott, The Counselor. Milan Records has released a soundtrack album featuring the composer’s music earlier this week. Check out our previous article for the full album details. Also check out a video featurette about the creation of the score, including an interview with Pemberton and footage from the recording sessions below (via ASCAP’s We Create Music blog).