The details of the score album release for the upcoming comic book adaptation The Avengers have been revealed. The album features the original score by composer Alan Silvestri. The album will be released digitally overseas on April 20, 2012 and in the US on May 1, where it will be available to download on Amazon. Audio clips from all tracks on the album can be checked out below. Hollywood Records has previously announced a separate soundtrack featuring songs from and inspired of the movie, including an end credits song by Soundgarden (click here for more information). The Avengers directed by Joss Whedon stars Robert Downey, Jr. as Tony Stark/Iron Man, Chris Hemsworth as Thor, Chris Evans as Captain America, Jeremy Renner as Hawkeye, Mark Ruffalo as Hulk, Scarlett Johansson as Black Widow, Clark Gregg as Agent Phil Coulson, and Samuel L. Jackson as Nick Fury. The film will be released nationwide on May 4. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

UPDATE (April 17, 2012): Intrada Records has announced a physical release of Silvestri’s score, which includes additional music not featured on the regular digital release. Visit Intrada’s website to find out more details.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Arrival (2:59)
2. Doors Open from Both Sides (2:48)
3. Tunnel Chase (2:36)
4. Stark Goes Green (2:41)
5. Helicarrier (2:09)
6. Subjugation (3:00)
7. Don’t Take My Stuff (4:42)
8. Red Ledger (5:11)
9. Assault (4:26)
10. They Called It (2:41)
11. Performance Issues (3:35)
12. Seeing, Not Believing (4:25)
13. Assemble (4:31)
14. I Got a Ride (4:00)
15. A Little Help (3:14)
16. One Way Trip (5:50)
17. A Promise (3:34)
18. The Avengers (2:03)

  1. Tor says:

    So…no (as of yet) physical CD? The stones on some people…

  2. Loki Laufeyson says:

    This soundtrack had better be damn wonderful, do you hear me? I’m deciding to pay you mortals for it…despite the fact that I’m taking over Midgard and I DO WHAT I WANT.

    Time is £, feeble race. Two more days you’re having your king wait.