‘Rio’ Soundtrack Status

Posted: March 4, 2011 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: , , ,

Two soundtrack albums for the upcoming animated film Rio have been announced. Varese Sarabande Records will release John Powell’s original score from the movie on April 19, 2011. We will be posting a new article when the cover and tracklist will be published. Earlier this week, Fox Music and Interscope Records have announced a separate soundtrack album featuring songs from the movie. Artists featured on the soundtrack include Sergio Mendez, will.i.am, Jamie Foxx and Mikael Mutti. The album will be released on April 5, 2011.

Rio is directed by Carlos Saldhana who previously directed the last two Ice Age films, as well as the Blue Sky’s 2005 animation Robots. All movies featured music by John Powell. Rio feature the voice talent of Jesse Eisenberg, Anne Hathaway, Jamie Foxx, Leslie Mann, Tracy Morgan, George Lopez, Wanda Skyes and Will i Am. The movie centers around a domesticated macaw from small-town Minnesota, who takes off on an adventure to Rio de Janeiro with the bird of his dreams. Visit the official movie webpage to find out more and preview a couple of the songs from the film. The movie will be released domestically on April 15.

Here’s the song album’s tracklisting:

1.  Real In Rio- The Rio Singers
2.  Let Me Take You To Rio (Blu’s Arrival) – Ester Dean & Carlinhos Brown
3.  Mas Que Nada (2011 Rio Version) – Sergio Mendes featuring Gracinha Leporace
4.  Hot Wings (I Wanna Party) – will.i.am & Jamie Foxx
5.  Pretty Bird – Jemaine Clement
6.  Fly Love – Jamie Foxx
7.  Telling The World – Taio Cruz
8.  Funky Monkey -Siedah Garrett, Carlinhos Brown, Mikael Mutti, and Davi Vieira
9.  Take You To Rio (Remix) – Ester Dean
10.  Balanco Carioca – Mikael Mutti
11.  Sapo Cai – Carlinhos Brown & Mikael Mutti
12.  Samba De Orly – Bebel Gilberto
13.  Valsa Carioca – Sergio Mendes

  1. jXe says:

    Long Live John Powell!