Varese Sarabande has announced a new soundtrack album for the 1981 British spy thriller Eye of the Needle directed by Richard Marquand and starring Donald Sutherland, Kate Nelligan, Ian Bannen and Christopher Cazenove. The 2-CD set, which is limited to 2,000 copies, features the film’s original music composed and conducted by Academy Award winner Miklós Rózsa (Ben-HurSpellbound, King of Kings, Quo VadisThe Private Life of Sherlock HolmesIvanhoe), including the previously unreleased film recording performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra on the first disc and the 13-track album version (previously released by Varese on CD and vinyl) performed by the Nuremberg Symphony Orchestra on the second disc. The Deluxe Edition soundtrack is now available to order on the label’s official website, where you can also find out more details and listen to audio samples. Eye of the Needle is now available to purchase on Blu-ray and DVD and to stream on Prime Video.

Here’s the track list of the album:

Disc 1:

1. Prelude from Eye of the Needle (1:57)
2. English Wedding (Film Version) (1:27)
3. The Boarding House / The Needle Strikes (1:30)
4. Storm Island / The Blond Agent (2:21)
5. The Bedroom (2:02)
6. Blondie’s End / The Needle (3:18)
7. Camouflage / Pursuit (4:28)
8. Search on the Train / Confrontation (2:49)
9. Escape / The Boat (2:24)
10. The Meeting (1:14)
11. Scene / No Regrets (2:37)
12. Heartbreak / The Transmitter (1:49)
13. The Fight (Film Version) (2:46)
14. Passion (Film Version) (1:43)
15. Frantic Drive (Film Version) (1:09)
16. Despair / Realization (3:26)
17. The Broken Heart / Revulsion (Film Version) (3:11)
18. Escape (Film Version) (6:00)
19. The Gun (1:20)
20. The Axe / The Firebomb (2:28)
21. The Hostage / The Lamp (Film Version) (3:18)
22. Retribution (Film Version) (4:18)
23. Finale / Epilogue trom Eye of the Needle (2:58)

Disc 2:

Content of the original album recording