Sony Classical will release the new record Beyond the Screen – Film Works on Piano by Rachel Portman featuring some of the composer’s most cherished film music for solo piano. The album was recorded in Berlin, with occasional accompaniment by cellist Raphaela Gromes and consists of 20 curated pieces that span Portman’s illustrious career, arranged to form an emotional and musical journey. Among the titles included are suites from the composer’s Academy Award-winning score for Douglas McGrath’s Emma, her Academy Award-nominated scores for Lasse Hallstrom’s The Cider House Rules and Chocolat, as well as her music for Mark Romanek’s Never Let Me Go, Lone Scherfig’s One Day and Saul Dibb’s The Duchess. The album will be released digitally and physically on March 3, 2023 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Check back on this page for the pre-order links for the CD version and vinyl edition and listen to six tracks from the record after the jump.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. The Cider House Rules: Piano Suite (2:16)
2. Chocolat: Piano Suite (2:53)
3. The Pier (from “Never Let Me Go”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (2:18)
4. One Day: Piano Suite (3:53)
5. Good Night You Kings (from “The Cider House Rules”, Arr. for Piano) (2:34)
6. The Duchess: Piano Suite (2:32)
7. Letter Box (from “Snow Flower and the Secret Fan”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (3:30)
8. Girl Rising: Piano Suite (2:50)
9. Still Life: Piano Suite (3:57)
10. Vianne Sets Up Shop (from “Chocolat”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (2:58)
11. Emma: Piano Suite (3:10)
12. I’d Miss You (from “Their Finest”, Arr. for Piano) (2:26)
13. Snow Story (from “Smoke”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (4:54)
14. Passage of Time (from “Chocolat”, Arr. for 2 Pianos) (2:43)
15. Frozen Lake (from “The Human Stain”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (3:25)
16. Life Is Sweet: Piano Suite (2:12)
17. Book of Photographs (from “Still Life”, Arr. for Piano & Cello) (3:09)
18. The Last Dinner (from “Despite the Falling Snow”, Arr. for Piano) (2:42)
19. Never Let Me Go: Piano & Cello Suite (5:07)
20. Good Night You Kings (from “The Cider House Rules”, Arr. for Piano) – a calm version (1:03)