Film Fest Gent has announced the new album Mark Isham – Music for Film. The album features music by the guest of honor of this year’s World Soundtrack Awards, including studio recordings of concert suites from the composer’s scores for A River Runs Through It (for which he received his first Academy Award nomination), 42American CrimeThe Black DahliaEight Below and this year’s The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent,  selections from Isham’s music from Judas and the Black Messiah and The Moderns & more. All music on this album is performed by the Brussels Philharmonic and conducted by Dirk Brossé. Trumpet solos on selected pieces are played by Isham himself and the Los Angeles Philharmonic’s principal trumpet Thomas Hooten. The album will be released during the 49th edition of Film Fest Gent in October and is now available to order on the festival’s website. The soundtrack licensed to Silva Screen Records is also expected to be available in other music stores next month (visit Amazon to order the CD version and click here to stream/download).

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. “Prologue” from Bobby
2. “Suite” from Eight Below
3. “Suite” from A River Runs Through It
4. “Funeral” from Judas and the Black Messiah
5. “Building a Family” from Life as a House
6. “On the Threshold of Liberty” from Rules of Engagement
7. “The Event Flashback” from The Nevers
8. “Suite” from The Black Dahlia
9. “Suite – Movement III” from American Crime
10. “Les Modernes Suite” from The Moderns
11. “Suite” from The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent
12. “Suite” from 42

  1. Judy says:

    Was theme music for “A River Runs Through It” used for “Reconstruction: America After the Civil War” PBS documentary?