Alec Puro (The Art of Getting ByHigher GroundAll NightersThe FostersThe Scribbler) has composed the original score for the upcoming thriller The Gateway. The film is directed by Michele Civetta (Agony) and stars Shea Whigham, Olivia Munn, Frank Grillo, Bruce Dern, Zach Avery, Keith David, Taryn Manning and Mark Boone Junior. The movie is based on the 2013 Black List-honored screenplay Where Angels Die by Alexander Felix and revolves around a downtrodden social worker in the grips of alcoholism who gets assigned to oversee care of the daughter of single mother. Andrew Levitas (The White Crow, Minamata) is producing the project for Metalwork Pictures, alongside Stephen Israel (G.B.F., Miles). The Gateway is set to be released this year by Lionsgate.

Puro also continues to score Netflix’s Black Summer, which will return for its second season this year. He also recently scored the Netflix comedy series The Crew, which premiered this past February.