Lakeshore Records will release a soundtrack album for the sci-fi thriller Stowaway. The album features the film’s original music composed by Academy Award nominee Volker Bertelmann (aka Hauschka) (Lion, The Old Guard, Your Honor, Ammonite, Hotel Mumbai, Adrift, Patrick Melrose, The Art of Racing in the Rain). The soundtrack will be released digitally this Friday, April 23 and will be available to stream/download on Amazon. Stowaway is directed by Joe Penna and stars Anna Kendrick, Toni Collette, Daniel Dae Kim and Shamier Anderson. The movie revolves around a three-person crew on a mission to Mars who faces an impossible choice when an unintended stowaway accidentally causes severe damage to the spaceship’s life support systems. The thriller will premiere tomorrow, April 22 exclusively on Netflix.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Earth Rise (3:26)
2. Regaining Consciousness (2:35)
3. Favorite Spot on the Ship (2:02)
4. How Much Oxygen (4:28)
5. Setting Up the Algae (1:59)
6. It’s Literally My Job (2:41)
7. Can I Take His Place? (2:43)
8. I Was in the Fire (2:35)
9. Can You Talk? (1:50)
10. What Did You Do? (2:13)
11. The Algae Are Dead (1:46)
12. Climbing the Tethers (2:47)
13. On the Kingfisher (3:29)
14. More Than Enough Oxygen (2:02)
15. Solar Flare (4:26)
16. I Will Go (2:16)
17. Climbing the Tethers Alone (4:56)
18. Into the Solar Storm (3:28)


  1. Lorenzo Bedini says:

    All power to Volker Bertelmann, whose score for this movie is every bit as important as the excellent performances and other production values. Bertelmann hits the perfect pitch – forgive the unavoidable pun – between atmosphere and emotion. The final scene is one of the most haunting I’ve seen since I can remember, and the simple motif with its delicate sting backing is just perfect: neither drowned in sentimentality nor – well – lost in space. I’ve never heard better.

  2. Gavin says:

    I just got done watching this movie and I have to see the score was so horrific to listen to that I had to stop the movie near the end to look up who wrote the score, to find this website, to make this comment. This is the most ear shattering, fingernails on a chalkboard, feedback loop crap ever. The dialogue was constantly covered by the “music“ and was barely audible most of the time. This is probably one of the worst scores I have ever heard. It made the movie worse by tenfold. Nice job Volker.