2020 World Soundtrack Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: September 11, 2020 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

The World Soundtrack Academy has announced the nominees for the 2020 World Soundtrack Awards in all categories , including Film Composer of the Year, TV Composer of the Year and Best Original Song Written Directly for a Film. The winners will be announced at the 20th anniversary edition of the World Soundtrack Awards, which will be be an online edition, live-streamed from Kinepolis Ghent on October 24, 2020. Among the previously announced guests at the ceremony are Alexandre Desplat, record holder of the World Soundtrack Film Composer of the Year Award, Gabriel Yared, who will receive a Lifetime Achievement, and Michael Abels, Discovery of the Year 2019.

Here are the nominations:

Film Composer of the Year

Alexandre Desplat
Little Women, J’accuse, Adults in the Room

Hildur Guðnadóttir

Thomas Newman

Benjamin Wallfisch
It Chapter Two, The Invisible Man

John Williams
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

TV Composer of the Year

Lorne Balfe
His Dark Materials

Nathan Barr
The Great, Hollywood, Carnival Row

Nicholas Britell
Succession (Season 2)

Carter Burwell
The Morning Show

Trent Reznor & Atticus Ross

Best Original Song

I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away, Toy Story 4, Randy Newman
(I’m Gonna) Love Me Again, Rocketman, Elton John & Bernie Taupin
Into The Unknown, Frozen II, Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
One Little Soldier, Bombshell, Regina Spektor
Stand Up, Harriet, Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo

Public Choice

Alfonso G. Aguilar, Klaus
Hannes De Maeyer, Torpedo
John Powell, The Call of the Wild
Lolita Ritmanis, Blizzard of Souls
Joep Sporck, Kruimeltje

Discovery of the Year

Dascha Dauenhauer, Berlin Alexanderplatz
Bryce Dessner, The Two Popes
Tom Howe, A Shaun the Sheep Movie: Farmageddon
Daniel Lopatin, Uncut Gems
Christopher Willis, The Personal History of David Copperfield

Best Original Score for a Belgian Production

Vincent Cahay, Adoration
Hannes De Maeyer, Torpedo
Mauro Pawlowski, Cleo

SABAM Award for Best Original Composition by a Young Composer

Hamish Ander
Louis Edlinger
Ana Kasrashvili