cinemaaudiosocietyThe Cinema Audio Society has announced the nominees for the 55th Annual CAS Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing. For the past few years, scoring mixers have been recognized alongside production, re-recording, ADR and foley mixers. In the Motion Pictures – Live Action category, the scoring mixers honored include Tyson Lozensky for John Krasinski’s A Quiet Place (scored by Marco Beltrami), Jason Ruder for Bradley Cooper’s A Star Is Born, Christopher Fogel for Ryan Coogler’s Black Panther (music by Ludwig Goransson) and Ai-Ling Lee for Damien Chazelle’s First Man (scored by Justin Hurwitz).In the Motion Pictures – Animated category, the nominated scoring mixers are Joel Iwataki for Pixar’s Incredibles 2  (scored by Michael Giacchino), Simon Rhodes for Wes Anderson’s Isle of Dogs (music by Alexandre Desplat), Sam Okell for Sony Pictures Animation’s Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (scored by Daniel Pemberton) and Noah Scot Snyder for Dr. Seuss’ The Grinch (music by Danny Elfman). Tyson Lozensky received a second nomination in the Motion Picture – Documentary category for mixing Marco Beltrami’s score for the National Geographic documentary Free Solo. In the Television Series – 1 Hour category, scoring mixer Phil McGowan was recognized for his work on the second season episode The Badger of Netflix’s Ozark (scored by Danny Bensi & Saunder Jurriaans) and Adam Taylor was nominated for his own score mix for The Handmaid’s Tale episode Holly. In the Television Series – 1/2 Hour category, composer David Wingo received a nomination for the mix of his score for the episode Chapter Seven: Loud, Fast and Keep Going from HBO’s Barry and Oren Hadar was recognized for his scoring mix for the Silicon Valley episode Fifty-One Percent (scored by Jeff Cardoni). In the Television Movie or Limited Series category, John Chapman received a nomination for his work on the first episode of Showtime’s Escape at Dannemora (scored by Edward Shearmur). For a full list of nominations, visit the Cinema Audio Society’s official website. The awards will be presented at a sealed envelope dinner on February 16 in the Wilshire Grand Ballroom of the InterContinental Los Angeles Downtown.