Bear McCreary has composed the music for the next installment in the Cloverfield series, God Particle. The film is directed by Julius Onah and stars David Oyelowo, Elizabeth Debicki, Chris O’Dowd, Gugu Mbatha-Raw, Ziyi Zhang and Daniel Brühl. The movie is set in the near future and tells the story of a team of astronauts on a space station who make a terrifying discovery involving a new energy source and their desperate fight for survival. Oren Uziel (22 Jump Street) and Doug Jung (Star Trek: Beyond, Confidence) wrote the screenplay. J.J. Abrams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens, Star Trek, Lost, Alias) and Lindsey Weber are producing the project for Bad Robot Productions. McCreary has previously scored the Abrams-produced 2016 feature 10 Cloverfield LaneGod Particle is currently scheduled to be released on April 20, 2018 by Paramount Pictures, but recent reports indicate that Netflix is in talks to pick up the movie and release the film on its streaming platform.

McCreary’s upcoming feature projects also include Scott Speer’s I Still See You starring Bella Thorne (originally entitled Break My Heart 1000 Times) and Federico D’ Alessandro’s Tau starring Maika Monroe & Gary Oldman (premiering on Netflix later this year). He also scored the animated feature Animal Crackers, which premiered at last year’s Annecy International Animated Film Festival and will be released theatrically this year by Entertainment Studios. He also continues to score AMC’s The Walking Dead, Starz’s Outlander and ABC’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D.