imageMarius de Vries has composed the score for Lucasfilm’s upcoming animated musical Strange Magic. The movie is directed by Gary Rydstrom (Toy Story Toons: Hawaiian Vacation, Lifted) and features the voices of Alan Cumming, Evan Rachel Wood, Kristin Chenoweth, Maya Rudolph, Sam Palladio, Meredith Anne Bull, Alfred Molina, Elijah Kelley, Bob Einstein and Peter Stormare. The film tells the story of a group of goblins, elves, fairies and imps, and their misadventures sparked by the battle over a powerful potion. The animated feature is inspired by A Midsummer Night’s Dream and incorportates popular songs from the past six decades. David Berenbaum (Elf), Irene Mecchi (Brave, The Lion King) & Rydstrom have written the screenplay based on a story by George Lucas. Mark S. Miller is producing the project and Lucas serves as an executive producer. De Vries also serves as the musical director of the film. Strange Magic is set to be released on January 23, 2015 by Touchstone Pictures.