12-years-a-slaveThe details of the soundtrack album for Steve McQueen’s historical drama 12 Years a Slave have been announced. The album features selections from the film’s original score composed by Hans Zimmer, as well as original recordings from John Legend (who serves as the soundtrack’s producer), Alicia Keys (who performs Queen of the Field (Patsey’s Song) and Alabama Shakes (performing  Driva Man). Also included on the release is the track Roll Jordan Roll performed by the film’s cast. Other songs featured on the album Freight Train by Gary Clark Jr. and Misery Chain performed by Chris Cornell and The Civil Wars’ Joy Williams. Also featured are the film’s waltzes, spirituals and field songs composed and arranged by Nicholas Britell. The soundtrack will be released digitally on November 5, 2013 by Columbia Records. A physical version will be released one week later and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Audio clips will be added to this article within the next couple of weeks. 12 Years a Slave starring Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Dano, Paul Giamatti, Lupita Nyong’o, Sarah Paulson, Brad Pitt and Alfre Woodard is being released in select theaters today, October 18 and will expand to more cities within the next couple of weeks. For more information about the drama, visit the official movie website. (The Hollywood Reporter)

Here’s the album track list:

1. Devil’s Dream – Tim Fain (Music arranged by Nicholas Britell)
2. Roll Jordan Roll – John Legend
3. Freight Train – Gary Clark Jr.
4. Yarney’s Waltz – Tim Fain and Caitlin Sullivan (Music by Nicholas Britell)
5. Driva Man – Alabama Shakes
6. My Lord Sunshine Sunrise – David Hughey and Roosevelt Credit (Music and lyrics by Nicholas Britell)
7. Move – John Legend feat. Fink
8. Washington – Hans Zimmer
9. (In The Evening) When The Sun Goes Down – Gary Clark Jr.
10. Queen Of The Field – Alicia Keys
11. Solomon – Hans Zimmer
12. Little Girl Blue – Laura Mvula
13. Misery Chain – Chris Cornell w/ Joy Williams
14. Roll Jordan Roll – Topsy Chapman feat. Chiwetel Ejiofor and Cast (Music arranged by Nicholas Britell)
15. Money Musk – Tim Fain (Music arranged by Nicholas Britell)
16. What Does Freedom Mean To A Free Man – Cody Chestnutt