12-years-a-slaveColumbia Records will release a soundtrack album for the critically acclaimed period drama 12 Years a Slave. The album features music from and inspired by the film. Among the artists contributing to the soundtrack are John Legend, Alicia Keys and Gary Clark Jr. The full details are expected to be announced within the next couple of days. The movie features an original score composed by Hans Zimmer. In addition, pianist/composer Nicholas Britell has written and arranged the film’s on-screen violin music, which is performed by violinist Tim Fain. The soundtrack will be released physically on November 11, 2013. 12 Years a SlaveĀ is directed by Steve McQueen and stars Chiwetel Ejiofor, Michael Fassbender, Benedict Cumberbatch, Paul Dano, Paul Giamatti, Lupita Nyong’o, Sarah Paulson, Brad Pitt and Alfre Woodard. The movie follows a free man who was kidnapped in 1841 and sold into slavery on a Louisiana cotton plantation. The drama will be released in New York and Los Angeles this Friday, October 18 before expanding to more markets within the next couple of weeks. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

  1. Andrea Colton says:

    Nicholas Britell did not only write the violin music — please note (!) that he wrote all the the original songs in the movie. Much more than violin music! Please give him credit