black-sailsBear McCreary is composing the score for the upcoming Starz original series Black Sails. The pirate adventure is created by Jon Steinberg (Jericho) & Robert Levine (Touch) follows the tales of Captain Flin and his men twenty years prior to Robert Louis Stevenson’s classic Treasure Island. The show’s cast includes Toby Stephens, Luke Arnold, Zach McGowan, Toby Schmitz, Hannah New, Jessica Parker Kennedy, Clara Paget, Tom Hopper and Mark Ryan. Steinberg is executive producing the series with Michael Bay and his Platinum Dunes partners Brad Fuller & Andrew Form (The Texas Chainsaw Massacre, The Purge, Friday the 13th). McCreary has previously scored the first season of the Steinberg-produced show Human Target and also composed the music for Starz’s Da Vinci’s Demons. As previously reported, the composer and Steinberg will participate in a panel at Comic-Con this coming Friday. Black Sails is set to premiere with an eight-episode season in January of 2014. For updates on the series, visit the official show website.