‘Frozen Planet’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: January 22, 2013 by filmmusicreporter in TV Music Albums
Tags: , , , ,

frozen-planetSilva Screen Records has announced a soundtrack album for the BBC series Frozen Planet. The album features selections from the show’s score composed and conducted by George Fenton (Gandhi, Cry Freedom, The Fisher King) who has previously scored the nature documentary series The Blue Planet and Planet Earth. The music is performed by the BBC Concert Orchestra. The soundtrack will be released on March 18, 2013. Frozen Planet narrated by David Attenborough (and Alec Baldwin in the US version) focuses on life and the environment in both the Arctic and Antarctic. The series, which aired on BBC in the UK and on The Discovery Channel in the US, was honored with four Emmy Awards last year, including Outstanding Nonfiction Series. The full season of seven episodes is now available on Blu-Ray and DVD.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Frozen Planet Opening Titles
2. The North Pole
3. Rapid Change
4. Sufing Penguins
5. Antarctic Mystery
6. Flying South
7. Stones
8. McKenzie River
9. Cubs First Hunt
10. Narwhals
11. Elephant Seal Duel
12. Returning Seabirds/Albatross Love
13. Ice Sculptures
14. Leaping Penguins
15. Owlets/Protection
16. Seal Ballet/Arrival Of The Humpbacks
17. Lazy Bear
18. Exercise
19. Belugas
20. Competing For The Girl
21. The Long March
22. Winter
23. Activity
24. Weasel
25. Winter Sets In
26. Battle Of Wills
27. Emperors Return
28. Greenland Patrol
29. Minus Forty
30. Following The Herd
31. Walrus Kill
32. Scott’s Legacy

  1. sean says:

    Words can’t describe how happy this makes me. Finally! the music is beautiful and I have no idea what took them so long to release it.