The details of the score album for the action crime drama Gangster Squad have been revealed. The album features the film’s score composed by Steve Jablonsky (Transformers trilogy, Battleship). The soundtrack will be released on January 8, 2013 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Click here to listen to audio clips from the album. As previously announced, a separate soundtrack album featuring the film’s songs will be released on WaterTower Music. Gangster Squad is directed by Ruben Fleischer (Zombieland) and stars Ryan Gosling, Sean Penn, Emma Stone, Josh Brolin, Nick Nolte, Giovanni Ribisi,¬†Anthony Mackie and Michael Pena. Warner Bros. Pictures will release the film on January 11, 2013. For updates on the drama, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. His Name Is Mickey Cohen (02:28)
2. Welcome To Los Angeles (03:13)
3. He Can’t Have You (01:40)
4. War For The Soul (02:49)
5. There Goes Our Ride (01:15)
6. You Can’t Shoot Me (03:52)
7. Always Knew I’d Die In Burbank (02:29)
8. You’re Talking To God (00:51)
9. The Bug (02:18)
10. Hot Potato With A Grenade (03:19)
11. You Know The Drill (01:07)
12. I Was Just Hopin’ To Take You To Bed (01:31)
13. Kill ‘Em All (01:59)
14. Chinatown (04:29)
15. Keeler (02:18)
16. Connie Lives (01:54)
17. Let’s Finish It (02:26)
18. Union Station (01:35)
19. Light ‘Em Up (07:28)
20. The City Of Angels (04:04)
21. Gangster Squad (02:58)

  1. Matt C. says:

    Well, I guess based on the composer choice, they are not going for an authentic approach. I wish they would have hired someone like Terence Blanchard, Michael Giacchino or even James Horner. I will be very surprised if Steve Jablonsky pulls off any swing/jazz/blues style in the film score, itself.

    Happy listening!

  2. Sean says:

    Listening to the samples…there is no reference to any swing/ jazz/ blues. It seems to be another mainstream Hollywood thumping action score. Not that there’s anything wrong with that as it is what Jablonsky does best…