The Academy of Motion Pictures Picture Arts and Sciences has announced the eligible movies in contention for nominations in the Original Score category for the 85th Academy Awards. Notable omissions include such titles as Moonrise Kingdom (Alexandre Desplat) and Silver Linings Playbook (Danny Elfman). The 104 eligible scores along with the composer are listed below in alphabetical order by film title:

“Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter,” Henry Jackman, composer
“After the Wizard,” Stephen Main, composer
“Alex Cross,” John Debney and Sebastian Morton, composers
“The Amazing Spider-Man,” James Horner, composer
“Anna Karenina,” Dario Marianelli, composer
“Argo,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
“Battleship,” Steve Jablonsky, composer
“The Bay,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
“Beasts of the Southern Wild,” Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, composers
“Being Flynn,” Damon Gough, composer
“The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” Thomas Newman, composer
“Big Miracle,” Cliff Eidelman, composer
“Booker’s Place: A Mississippi Story,” David Cieri, composer
“Brave,” Patrick Doyle, composer
“Brooklyn Castle,” B. Satz, composer
“Chasing Ice,” J. Ralph, composer
“Chasing Mavericks,” Chad Fischer, composer
“Chicken with Plums,” Olivier Bernet, composer
“Chimpanzee,” Nicholas Hooper, composer
“Cloud Atlas,” Reinhold Heil and Johnny Klimek, composers
“Compliance,” Heather McIntosh, composer
“Contraband,” Clinton Shorter, composer
“The Dark Knight Rises,” Hans Zimmer, composer
“Dark Shadows,” Danny Elfman, composer
“Darling Companion,” James Newton Howard, composer
“Deadfall,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
“The Dictator,” Erran Baron Cohen, composer
“Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax,” John Powell, composer
“End of Watch,” David Sardy, composer
“Ethel,” Miriam Cutler, composer
“Flight,” Alan Silvestri, composer
“For a Good Time, Call…” John Swihart, composer
“For Greater Glory: The True Story of Cristiada,” James Horner, composer
“Frankenweenie,” Danny Elfman, composer
“Fun Size,” Deborah Lurie, composer
“Girl in Progress,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
“The Grey,” Marc Streitenfeld, composer
“The Guilt Trip,” Christophe Beck, composer
“Hidden Moon,” Luis Bacalov, composer
“Hitchcock,” Danny Elfman, composer
“The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey,” Howard Shore, composer
“Hotel Transylvania,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
“House at the End of the Street,” Theo Green, composer
“The Hunger Games,” James Newton Howard, composer
“Hyde Park on Hudson,” Jeremy Sams, composer
“Ice Age Continental Drift,” John Powell, composer
“The Impossible,” Fernando Velázquez, composer
“Jack Reacher,” Joe Kraemer, composer
“John Carter,” Michael Giacchino, composer
“Journey 2: The Mysterious Island,” Andrew Lockington, composer
“Lawless,” Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
“Life of Pi,” Mychael Danna, composer
“Lincoln,” John Williams, composer
“Lola Versus,” Will Bates and Philip Mossman, composers
“Looper,” Nathan Johnson, composer
“The Lucky One,” Mark Isham, composer
“LUV,” Nuno Malo, composer
“The Man with the Iron Fists,” RZA and Howard Drossin, composers
“Marvel’s The Avengers,” Alan Silvestri, composer
“The Master,” Jonny Greenwood, composer
“Men in Black 3,” Danny Elfman, composer
“Middle of Nowhere,” Kathryn Bostic, composer
“Mirror Mirror,” Alan Menken, composer
“The Odd Life of Timothy Green,” Geoff Zanelli, composer
“On the Road,” Gustavo Santaolalla, composer
“The Pardon,” Ashley Irwin, composer
“Parental Guidance,” Marc Shaiman, composer
“People Like Us,” A.R. Rahman, composer
“The Possession,” Anton Sanko, composer
“Prometheus,” Marc Streitenfeld, composer
“Promised Land,” Danny Elfman, composer
“The Raid: Redemption,” Mike Shinoda and Joseph Trapanese, composers
“Red Tails,” Terence Blanchard, composer
“Rise of the Guardians,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
“Ruby Sparks,” Nick Urata, composer
“Safe House,” Ramin Djawadi, composer
“Safety Not Guaranteed,” Ryan Miller, composer
“Saint Dracula,” Sreevalsan J. Menon, composer
“Savages,” Adam Peters, composer
“Seeking a Friend for the End of the World,” Rob Simonsen and Jonathan Sadoff, composers
“The Sessions,” Marco Beltrami, composer
“Sinister,” Christopher Young, composer
“Skyfall,” Thomas Newman, composer
“Smashed,” Eric D. Johnson and Andy Cabic, composers
“Snow White and the Huntsman,” James Newton Howard, composer
“Taken 2,” Nathaniel Mechaly, composer
“Ted,” Walter Murphy, composer
“Think Like a Man,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
“This Means War,” Christophe Beck, composer
“A Thousand Words,” John Debney, composer
“The Three Stooges,” John Debney, composer
“Trashed,” Vangelis, composer
“Trouble with the Curve,” Marco Beltrami, composer
“21 Jump Street,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
“The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2,” Carter Burwell, composer
“Until They Are Home,” Jamie Dunlap, composer
“War of the Worlds The True Story,” Jamie Hall, composer
“The Watch,” Christophe Beck, composer
“West of Memphis,” Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
“Where Do We Go Now?” Khaled Mouzanar, composer
“Won’t Back Down,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
“The Words,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
“Wreck-It Ralph,” Henry Jackman, composer
“Zero Dark Thirty,” Alexandre Desplat, composer

The nominations will be announced on January 11, 2013.

  1. Thiva says:

    Well…i want Lincoln, Anna Kareina , The Hobbit, People Like us ,(Desplat’s One Score And Elfman’s One score ) to nominate this year 🙂

  2. IamBoDigidy says:

    Avengers was nominated. Look under “M” for Marvel’s Avengers.

  3. Bond1965 says:

    Interesting the Tom Tykwer wasn’t included as a composer on CLOUD ATLAS.

    SILVER LININGS PLAYBOOK and MOONRISE KINGDOM being omitted aren’t a surprise considering there were a lot of songs and other music used in the films.

  4. ed says:

    Possible top five are:

    LIncoln – John Williams
    Life Of Pi – Mychael Danna
    Skyfall – Thomas Newman
    The Master – Jonny Greenwood
    The Hobbit – An Unexpected Journey

    Other scores that my hinder this selection: Marianelli’s Anna Karenina, and Desplat’s Zero Dark Thirty.

  5. Jeff says:

    Top 5 :

    Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
    John Carter – Michael Giacchino
    Lincoln – John Williams
    Sinister – Christopher Young
    Zero Dark Thirty – Alexandre Desplat

  6. Ravi Krishna says:

    My predictions –

    1) Lincoln (John Williams)
    2) Beasts Of The Southern Wild (Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin)
    3) Argo (Alexandre Desplat)
    4) Anna Karenina (Dario Marianelli)
    5) Life Of Pi (Mychael Danna)

    Would be great if Brave makes it in too.

  7. Lee says:

    My top 5 best of the year are –

    1) The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Howard Shore
    2) Snow White and the Huntsman – James Newton Howard
    3) The Amazing Spider-Man – James Horner
    4) Skyfall – Thomas Newman

    and any of these for number 5 –
    The Hunger Games – James Newton Howard
    The Impossible – Fernando Velázquez
    John Carter – Michael Giacchino

  8. Daniel P. says:

    I think these are the ones:

    Anna Karenina – Dario Marianelli
    Beasts Of The Southern Wild – Dan Romer & Benh Zeitlin
    Lincoln – John Williams
    Zero Dark Thirty – Alexandre Desplat (or it could be Rise of the Guardians representing animation)
    Life of Pi – Mychael Danna


    The Master – Jonny Greenwood
    Brave – Patrick Doyle (could represent animation as well)
    Hitchcock – Danny Elfman
    The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Howard Shore
    Skyfall – Thomas Newman
    Argo – Alexandre Desplat

  9. Macejko says:

    1) Patrick Doyle should win already (as he should have for Rise of the Planet of the Apes last year). Too bad that Academy won’t give a damn and will favorize established names.
    2) Although it’s clear that they put every single score released this year on that list, it’s still surprising that they considered Ramin Djawadi’s Safe House. It’s not his best score, but maybe it’s a sign that in the future he’ll finally get some of the recognition he deserves.