August Recordings will release a soundtrack album for the British drama Private Peaceful. The album features the film’s original score written by Academy Award-winning composer Rachel Portman (Emma, The Cider House Rules, Chocolat). The soundtrack will be released digitally on October 22, 2012 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Check out audio clips and the full track list after the jump. Private Peaceful directed by Pat O’Connor and starring Jack O’Connell, George Mackay, Alexander Roach, Richard Griffiths and Frances de la Tour is set in the fields of Devon and the WWI battlefields of Flanders tells the story of two brothers who fall in love with the same girl. The film based on a novel by Michael Morpurgo (War Horse) opened in the UK last weekend. No word yet on a domestic release date. Check out the official movie website for more information on the film.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Promises to Keep
2. Private Peaceful
3. Ten to Midnight
4. Wee, Sleekit, Cow’rin
5. Dust to Dust
6. Grandma Wolf
7. Old Hound
8. Looking for Work
9. Tommo Watches Molly
10. No Tomorrow Could Ever Be As Good As Today
11. Oranges and Lemons
12. Tommo Joins Up
13. Sentry Duty
14. Gas Attack
15. Suffer the Little Children
16. Counter Attack
17. Molly Writes to Tommo
18. Bayonet Training
19. Inspecting Rifles
20. Father’s Watch
21. Firing Squad
22. I Think I’m in Love

  1. Justin Boggan says:

    Sounds absolutely wonderful! Too bad it’s download only.