Watertower Music has announced that they will release the soundtrack album for the upcoming movie musical Rock of Ages. (UPDATE April 2012: Pre-order the soundtrack on Amazon). The film is an adaptation of the 2006 Broadway musical by Chris D’Arienzo built around classic rock hits from the 1980s and features music by artists including Def Leppard, Foreigner, Journey, Poison, Reo Speedwagon, Joan Jett, Bon Jovi, Night Ranger, Pat Benatar, Whitesnake and Twisted Sister. Adam Anders serves as the film’s music executive producer. Anders who is best known for producing and arranging the songs of the hit TV show Glee is also co-writing the score for Rock of Ages with Peer Astrom (also known as a music producer on Glee). Matt Sullivan (Dreamgirls, Hairspray) is the project’s music supervisor. The movie stars Julianne Hough (Footloose), Diego Boneta (90210), Russell Brand, Paul Giamatti, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Malin Akerman, Mary J. Blige, Alec Baldwin and Tom Cruise. The New Line Cinema production is directed by Adam Shankman (Hairspray) and the screenplay is written by Justin Theroux (Tropic Thunder), Chris D’Arienzo and Allan Loeb (21). Matt Weaver (The Heartbreak Kid), Scott Prisand (Hesher), Carl Levin and Tobey Maguire are producing. Rock of Ages is set for a release on June 1, 2012 by Warner Bros. Check out the trailer below and visit the official movie website for updates on the project.

  1. Jorge Barba Cortez says:

    Im from México, and i cant wait to see this film. i hope this movie will be very good

  2. TomCruiseFan says:

    can’t wait for ROA!!!