Volker Bertelmann (All Quiet on the Western Front, Lion, Adrift, Hotel MumbaiThe Old GuardPatrick Melrose) has signed on to score the upcoming Max original series Dune: The Sisterhood. The show is created by Diane Ademu-John (The Haunting of Bly Manor) based on the novel Sisterhood of Dune by Brian Herbert & Kevin J. Anderson and stars Emily Watson, Olivia Williams, Travis Fimmel, Jodhi May, Mark Strong, Jade Anouka, Chris Mason, Sarah-Sofie Boussnina, Shalom Brune-Franklin, Aoife Hinds, Faoileann Cunningham and Chloe Lea The sci-fi drama is set 10,000 years before the ascension of Paul Atreides and follows the Harkonnen sisters as they combat forces that threaten the future of humankind. Alison Schapker (Westworld, Altered Carbon) serves as the project’s showrunner and is also executive producing the Legendary Television production with Ademu-John, Denis Villeneuve (Dune, Arrival), Jon Spaihts (Doctor Strange, Passengers), Scott Z. Burns (The Report, Side Effects), Matthew King, John Cameron (Fargo, Severance), Mark Tobey, Jordan Goldberg, Byron Merritt, Brian & Kim Herbert, as well as Anna Foerster (Lou, Underworld: Blood Wars) who is also directing. Dune: The Sisterhood is expected to premiere in 2024 on Max.

Bertelmann’s other recent projects include James Hawes’ World War II drama One Life, which premiered at this year’s Toronto Film Festival and has just been picked up by Bleecker Street for a domestic release in 2024. He also composed the score for Markus Goller’s One for the Road, which will open in German theaters on October 26 and Ibrahim Nash’at’s documentary Hollywoodgate, which premiered at this year’s Venice Film Festival and is currently awaiting a release date.