Joseph Trapanese (Shadow and Bone, Oblivion, Straight Outta Compton, The Greatest Showman, Lady and the Tramp, The Raid: Redemption) & Jason Lazarus (Teen Titans Go! vs. Teen Titans, Are You Afraid of the Dark?) have teamed up to score the upcoming Netflix anime series Skull Island. The show is created by Brian Duffield (Love and Monsters, Cocaine Bear) and stars Nicolas Cantu, Darren Barnet, Mae Whitman, Benjamin Bratt and Betty Gilpin. The animated fantasy adventure follows a group of explorers who are shipwrecked in the South Pacific and encounter a menagerie of fearsome creatures, including the giant ape who rules the island: Kong. Duffield is also executive producing the Legendary Television production with Thomas Tull (Pacific Rim, Godzilla vs. Kong), Jacob Robinson, Powerhouse Animation’s Brad Graeber (Master of the Universe: Revelation) and Jen Chambers. Trapanese has previously scored Duffield’s 2020 directorial debut, Spontaneous, and is also composing the music for the filmmaker’s upcoming feature No One Will Save You. Skull Island will premiere on June 22, 2023 on Netflix.

Trapanese’s other upcoming projects include the third season of Netflix’s The Witcher and Netflix’s Scott Pilgrim vs. the World anime series. He also recently scored Pete Atencio’s The Machine, which just opened in theaters last weekend.