cinemaaudiosocietyThe Cinema Audio Society has announced the nominees for the 58th Annual CAS Awards for Outstanding Achievement in Sound Mixing. For the past couple of years, scoring mixers have been recognized alongside production, re-recording, ADR and foley mixers. In the Motion Pictures – Live Action category, the scoring mixers honored include Alan Meyerson for Denis Villeneuve’s Dune (scored by Hans Zimmer), Stephen Lipson for Cary Fukunaga’s No Time to Die (also scored by Zimmer), Warren Brown for Marvel’s Spider-Man: No Way Home (music by Michael Giacchino), Graeme Stewart for Jane Campion’s The Power of the Dog (scored by Jonny Greenwood) and Steven Spielberg’s West Side Story. In the Motion Pictures – Animated category, the nominated scoring mixers are Alvin Wee for Disney’s Encanto (scored by Germaine Franco), Greg Hayes for Pixar’s Luca (music by Dan Romer), as well as Alan Meyerson who received two more nominations for Disney’s Raya and the Last Dragon (scored by James Newton Howard) and Illumination Entertainment’s Sing 2 (music by Joby Talbot). In the Motion Picture – Documentary category, Phil McGowan received a nomination for mixing Danny Bensi’s & Saunder Jurriaan’s score for HBO’s Tina and Garth Stevenson was nominated for mixing his own score for Amazon’s Val.  In the Non-Theatrical Motion Picture or Limited Series category, scoring mixer Casey Stone was recognized for his work on the final two episodes (Previously On & The Series Finale) of Marvel’s Disney+ series WandaVision (scored by Christophe Beck) and the third episode (Echoes) of Hawkeye (scored by Beck & Michael Paraskevas) and Geoff Foster was nominated for the episode Chapter 10: Mabel of Amazon’s The Underground Railroad (music by Nicholas Britell). In the Television Series – 1 Hour category, Tommy Vicari received a nomination for the Season 3 episode Secession of HBO’s Succession (scored by Nicholas Britell) and Carter Burwell was recognized for mixing his score for the season 2 episode My Least Favorite Year of Apple TV+’s The Morning Show. In the Television Series – 1/2 Hour category, Phil McGowan received a nomination for his work on the Season 3 episode December 19 of Netflix’s Cobra Kai (scored by Leo Birenberg & Zach Robinson), Alan DeMoss was nominated for the first episode (How Well Do You Know Your Neighbors) of Hulu’s Only Murders in the Building (music by Siddhartha Khosla) and Alan Meyerson received another nomination for mixing the first episode (Chapter 1: Stranger in a Strange Land) of Disney+’s The Book of Boba Fett (scored by Joseph Shirley with themes by Ludwig Goransson). For a full list of nominations, visit the Cinema Audio Society’s official website. The awards will be presented at an in-person event at the InterContinental in Downtown Los Angeles on March 19, 2022.