Merge Records has announced a soundtrack album for the drama First Cow. The album features the film’s original music composed by Nashville guitarist William Tyler who has made his feature film scoring debut on the project. The soundtrack will be released digitally this Friday, March 6 and will be available to stream/download on Amazon, where you can also check out audio samples. A CD and vinyl edition is in the works to come out this summer. First Cow is co-written and directed by Kelly Reichardt and stars John Magaro, Orion Lee, Toby Jones and Ewen Bremner. The movie is set in the early 19th Century and centers on a taciturn loner and skilled cook who has traveled west and joined a group of fur trappers in Oregon Territory, where he finds a true connection with a Chinese immigrant also seeking his fortune. The drama premiered at last year’s Telluride Film Festival and will be released in select theaters this Friday by A24.

Here’s the album track list:

1. First Cow in the Territory (1:23)
2. An Opening (2:12)
3. Cookie’s Theme (4:33)
4. Arrival (2:35)
5. River Dreams (2:07)
6. A Clearing in the Field (1:44)
7. The Separation (7:06)
8. A Closing (4:20)