Orange Mountain Music will release a soundtrack album for the period action movie Samurai Marathon. The album features the film’s music composed by Academy Award nominee Philip Glass (The Hours, Notes on a Scandal, Candyman, The Illusionist). The soundtrack is comprised of short excerpts of the composer’s music from MishimaThe Fog of War & Naqoyqatsi , movements from Symphonies 2, 3 and 8, Violin Concerto No. 1, as well as the operas Akhnaten and Satyagraha. The pieces were newly recorded for the project with the City of Prague Philharmonic under the baton of Richard Hein. The soundtrack will be released digitally on July 19. A CD version is set to be released on August 16 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Samurai Marathon is directed by Bernard Rose and stars Takeru Satoh, Nana Komatsu Mirai Moriyama, Shota Sometani, Munetaka Aoki, Ryu Kohata, Yuta Koseki and Danny Huston.  The movie is based on the novel The Marathon Samurai: Five Tales of Japanʼs First Marathon and follows a young ninja who is operating undercover in the court of an aging Lord during a peaceful era of Japan that is on the brink of change. The drama will open in select U.S. theaters next year by Well Go USA Entertainment.

Here’s the album track list:

1. New World – Yankee Doodle (1:57)
2. Mishima: November 25: Morning (excerpt) (1:52)
3. Naqoyqatsi: New World (excerpt) (0:48)
4. Symphony No. 3: Movement IV (excerpt) (1:50)
5. The Fog of War: 100,000 People (excerpt) (2:12)
6. Mishima: Kyoko’s House (excerpt) (2:09)
7. Mishima: Epilogue (excerpt) (1:09)
8. Mishima: 1937 Saint Sebastian (excerpt) (1:48)
9. Symphony No. 2: Movement I (excerpt) (1:55)
10. Violin Concerto No. 1: Movement III (excerpt) (4:00)
11. Satyagraha, Act II, Scene 3: Protest (excerpt) (1:33)
12. Mishima: Epilogue (Brass Version) (excerpt) (0:43)
13. Mishima: Temple of the Golden Pavilion (excerpt) (0:58)
14. The Fog of War: Return from Vietnam (1:31)
15. Symphony No. 8: Movement III (excerpt) (2:18)
16. Akhnaten: Funeral of Amenhotep III (excerpt) (4:15)