bang-bert-bernsLegacy Recordings will release a soundtrack album for the documentary Bang! The Bert Berns Story. The album features the songs from the movie by artists including Van Morrison, Erma Franklin, The Isley Brothers, The Strangeloves, The Pussycats, Freddie Scott & more. The soundtrack will be released digitally this Friday, April 21, and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Bang! The Bert Berns Story is directed by Brett Berns & Bob Sarles and centers on the life and career of Bert Berns, the 1960s songwriter, record producer, label co-owner and enigma who along with Van Morrison found Neil Diamond and Jimmy Page and wrote songs including Twist And Shout, Hang On Sloopy and Janis Joplin’s Piece Of My Heart. The movie narrated by Stevie Van Zandt features interviews with Ronald Isley, Ben E. King, Solomon Burke, Van Morrison, Keith Richards and Paul McCartney. The documentary premiered at last year’s SXSW Film Festival and will be released in select theaters on April 26 by Abramorama. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Piece of My Heart – Erma Franklin
2. A Little Bit of Soap – The Jarmels
3. Tell Him – The Exciters
4. Twist & Shout – The Isley Brothers
5. Cry Baby – Garnet Mimms And The Enchanters
6. Show Me Your Monkey – Kenny Hamber
7. Baby, Please Don’t Go – Them Feat. Van Morrison
8. You May Be Holding My Baby – The Pussycats
9. Everybody Needs Somebody to Love – Solomon Burke
10. Here Comes the Night – Them Feat. Van Morrison
11. I Want Candy (Single Version) – The Strangeloves
12. Are You Lonely for Me Baby – Freddie Scott
13. Mr. Success – Bobby Harris
14. Chick-A-Boom (Original Mono Mix) – Van Morrison
15. Hang On Sloopy (Single Version) – The McCoys
16. Cry To Me – Freddie Scott
17. Brown Eyed Girl (Original Stereo Mix) – Van Morrison
18. Am I Grooving You – Freddie Scott
19. Heart Be Still – Lorraine Ellison
20. Piece of My Heart – Big Brother & The Holding Company Feat. Janis Joplin