in-the-heart-of-the-seaWaterTower Music will release the official soundtrack album for Ron Howard’s action adventure drama In the Heart of the Sea. The album features the film’s original music composed by Roque Banos (The MachinistEvil DeadSexy BeastOldboy) who recorded his score with the London Metropolitan Orchestra at Abbey Road Studios in London. The soundtrack will be released on December 4, 2015 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon, where you can also listen to audio samples. In the Heart of the Sea stars Chris Hemsworth, Benjamin Walker, Cillian Murphy, Tom Holland, Jordi Mollá, Ben Whishaw and Brendan Gleeson. The movie is based on a novel by Nathaniel Philbrick and follows a whaling ship that is preyed upon by a sperm whale, stranding its crew at sea for 90 days, thousands of miles from home. The drama will be released nationwide on December 11 by Warner Bros. Pictures. Visit the official movie website for more information.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Arriving Nickerson’s Lair
2. Chase Walking Nantucket
3. Farewell
4. Young Nickerson
5. Essex Leaving Harbor
6. The Knockdown
7. Blows
8. A Thousand Leagues Out
9. Lower Away
10. The Attack
11. Abandon Ship
12. Separations
13. Stand Off
14. Homecoming
15. The Story Is Told
16. The White Whale Chant
17. Meeting Old Nickerson (Bonus Track)
18. The Second Attack (Bonus Track)
19. Lost at Sea (Bonus Track)
20. Desert Island (Bonus Track)
21. Finding The Dead (Bonus Track)
22. End Credits (Alternate Version / Bonus Track)

  1. Robert ford says:

    Nantucket sleigh ride by mountain is the perfect song for this movie

    • random guy says:

      I was thinking exactly the same thing!

      To be quite fair, I was slightly disappointed upon seeing the soundtrack and not finding such a masterpiece which “Nantucket Sleighride” is on the list.

  2. ViolenceFight says:

    …the fact that not a single song from Mastodon’s album Leviathan is in this film is a crime. It’s a damned concept album retelling Moby dick….