2015 Emmy Nominations Announced

Posted: July 16, 2015 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

emmysThe nominations for the 67th Emmy Awards were announced this morning. Here are the music-related categories:

Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score):

Chef’s Table – Francis Mallman – Music by Duncan Thum
House of Cards – Chapter 32 – Music by Jeff Beal
Outlander – Sassenach – Music by Bear McCreary
Penny Dreadful – Closer Than Sisters – Music by Abel Korzeniowski
The Paradise – Episode 8 – Music by Maurizio Malagnini
Tyrant – Pilot – Music by Mychael & Jeff Danna

Outstandig Music Composition for a Limited Series, Movie or a Special (Original Dramatic Score):

24: Live Another Day – 11:00AM to 12:00PM – Music by Sean Callery
American Horror Story: Freak Show – Orphans – Music by Mac Quayle
Away and Back – Music by William Ross
Bessie – Music by Rachel Portman
Sofia the First: The Curse of Princess Ivy – Music by Kevin Kliesch
The Missing – Eden – Music by Dominik Scherrer

Original Main Title Theme Music:

Marco Polo – Theme by Daniele Luppi
Penny Dreadful – Theme by Abel Korzeniowski
Texas Rising – Theme by John Debney & Bruce Broughton
The Dovekeppers – Theme by Jeff Beal
Transparent – Theme by Dustin O’Halloran
Tyrant – Theme by Mychael & Jeff Danna

Original Music and Lyrics:

Glee – Dreams Come True/Song Title: This Time – Music & Lyrics by Darren Criss
How Murray Saved Christmas – Song Title: You Gotta Believe –  Music by Walter Murphy; Lyrics by Mike Reiss
Inside Amy Schumer –  Cool With It/Song Title: Girl You Don’t Need Make Up – Music & Lyrics by Mike Dunnigan, Music by Jim Roach
Sons of Anarchy – Papa’s Goods/Song Title: Come Join the Murder – Music & Lyrics by Bob Thiele, Jake Smith & Kurt Sutter
The Comedians – Celebrity Guest/Song Title: Kiss an Old Man – Music & Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
The Oscars – Song Title: Moving Pictures – Music & Lyrics by Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez

Outstanding Music Direction:

Elf: Buddy’s Musical Christmas – Matthew Sklar & Christopher Guradino, Music Director
Peter Pan Live! – David Chase, Music Director
Stevie Wonder: Songs In The Key Of Life – An All-Star GRAMMY Salute – Greg Phillinganes, Music Director
Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street (Live from Lincoln Center) – Alan Gilbert, Conductor & Music Director
The Kennedy Center Honors – Rob Berman & Rob Mathes, Music Directors
The Oscars – Stephen Oremus, Music Director

For the full list of nominations, visit Emmys.com. The Primetime Creative Arts Emmy Awards (including all music categories) will be presented on September 12 and the main awards ceremony will take place on September 20 at the NOKIA Theatre L.A. LIVE.

  1. tiago says:

    Abel Korzeniowski should win that, his score for Penny Dreadful is excellent.

    • Jacob says:

      Saved me the trouble of writing the exact same thing, though I’m torn between hopes that it goes to either him or O’Halloran.

  2. Roger says:

    oooo penny dreadful!