desert-dancerVarese Sarabande will release a soundtrack album for the drama Desert Dancer. The album features the film’s original score composed by Benjamin Wallfisch (Dear WendyThe EscapistSummer in February), including the music for three extended dance sequences especially created for the movie as a collaboration between Wallfisch and choreographer Akram Khan. The soundtrack will be released on April 7, 2015 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Desert Dancer is directed by Richard Raymond and stars Freida Pinto, Reece Ritchie, Tom Cullen, Nazanin Boniadi and Makram J. Khoury. The movie tells the true story of Afshin Ghaffarian who – during the volatile climate of the 2009 presidential election, where many cultural freedoms were threatened – risked her life and formed an underground dance company with her friends. The drama will be released in select theaters on April 10 by Relativity Media. For updates on the film, visit the official Facebook movie page.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Afshin’s Theme (5:32)
2. Beat Him Artistically (2:17)
3. You Danced Inside My Heart (1:41)
4. Somewhere To Rehearse (1:02)
5. Elaheh’s Audition (2:48)
6. Hand Dance (2:17)
7. We Can Breathe (5:13)
8. Desert Dancer (9:26)
9. Withdrawal (4:04)
10. Silent Protest (:58)
11. Dance Is My Weapon (5:41)
12. Where No One Else Can See You (3:49)