man-of-steelMore details for the soundtrack albums for Zack Snyder’s Superman reboot Man of Steel have been revealed. As previously reported, two different albums featuring the film’s music composed by Hans Zimmer will be released. Both the regular and and deluxe edition are 2-disc sets and feature the 28 minute long track Man of Steel (Hans Original Sketchbook), which is performed solely by Zimmer and allows listeners to experience his initial experiments with the film’s music, which ultimately lay the foundation for the film’s final score. The deluxe edition will be housed in embossed steel case  and allows users  to access multiple videos showing a behind-the-scenes look at the creation of the music.  WaterTower Music also released more details about the score, for which a drum orchestra was brought that features such musicians as John JR Robinson, Jason Bonham, Josh Freese, Pharrell Williams, Danny Carey, Satnam Ramgotra, Toss Panos, Jim Keltner, Curt Bisquera, Trevor Lawrence Jr., Matt Chamberlain, Ryeland Allison, Bernie Dresel, Vinnie Colaiuta and Sheila E. Zimmer also assembled eight pedal steel guitarists who play classical string section parts, including Chas Smith, Marty Rifkin, Skip Edwards, Boo Bernstein, Peter Frieberger, Rick Schmidt, JD Maness and John McClung. The regular edition is now available for pre-order on Amazon and a limited deluxe edition can be pre-ordered hereMan of Steel will be released on June 14, 2013 by Warner Bros. Pictures. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the cover art of the regular edition:


  1. Fen says:

    Wow wow wow ! In an interview some months back, Hans confessed that he had a really long theme for MOS ! Now it’s a 28 min track ! That too his sketch ! Young composers can learn that how the sketch sounds before it gets it’s final shape ! Thank you Mr.Zimmer !:) Can’t wait to here the score samples ! Pls update that soon Filmmusicreporter ! 🙂