the-great-gatsbyWarner Bros. Pictures and Universal Music Group’s Interscope Records have announced the details of the soundtrack album for Baz Luhrmann’s epic drama The Great Gatsby. The album features the songs from the film, including Jay-Z’s original track No Church in the Wild, as well as his hit song 100$ Bill. Also included are the original songs Over the Love by Florence + the Machine and Young and Beautiful by Lana Del Rey, which will also be released as a single on April 23, 2013. Also featured are Beyonce x Andre 3000 (collaborating on Amy Winehouse’s Back to Black), Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock, Coco O. of Quadron, Gotye, Nero and Sia, Jack White (who performs U2’s Love Is Blindness, Bryan Ferry and Emeli Sande. The soundtrack will be released on May 7 in the US and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. A deluxe edition with three additional bonus tracks will be available exclusively at Target. The Great Gatsby starring Leonardo DiCaprio, Tobey Maguire, Carey Mulligan, Joel Edgerton, Isla Fisher, Elizabeth Debicki and Amitabh Bachchan is based on F. Scott Fitzgerald’s classic novel about would-be writer Nick Carraway who leaves the Midwest and comes to New York City in the spring of 1922, an era of loosening morals, glittering jazz, bootleg kings, and sky-rocketing stocks. The movie will be released nationwide on May 10 by Warner Bros. Pictures. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. 100$ Bill – JAY Z
2. Back To Black – Beyonce x Andre 3000
3. Bang Bang –
4. A Little Party Never Killed Nobody (All We Got) – Fergie + Q Tip + GoonRock
5. Young And Beautiful – Lana Del Rey
6. Love Is The Drug – Bryan Ferry with The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
7. Over The Love – Florence + The Machine
8. Where The Wind Blows – Coco O. of Quadron
9. Crazy in Love – Emeli Sande and The Bryan Ferry Orchestra
10. Together – The xx
11. Hearts A Mess – Gotye
12. Love Is Blindness – Jack White
13. Into the Past – Nero
14. Kill and Run – Sia

  1. Johosephat says:

    Didn’t JZ take over scoring duties from Armstrong on this one? Snarky comments aside, what news on the actual score?

  2. Justin Boggan says:

    Nothing official on Jay-Z. Some sources say he was clearly confused in his termonology when he said he was “scoring” it. But I suspect we’ll find out shortly when a score is is probably announced.

    Unless of course the newest trailer doesn’t list Armstrong.

  3. ed says:

    Fortunately Jay Z is not the composer of ‘The Great Gatsby’ – his role is merely the soundtrack albums producer; the thought of him and the mrs warbling throughout the film doesn’t bare thinking about. The soundtrack looks mediocre, especially from Luhrmann. Craig Armstrong’s score shall materialise at some point over the summer.

    • Johosephat says:

      What’s frustrating here is all the press/PR machine rubbish that was sprayed about earlier this year about how Jay Z “replaced” Armstrong. Somehow making the leap of faith that one could swoop in and easily fix things… Yet another frustrating stab which denigrates our profession and fans thereof. As far as He & the Mrs’ warbling…agreed.