Milan Records will be releasing a soundtrack album for the indie comedy Damsels in Distress. The album features the original score from the movie composed by Mark Suozzo (American Splendor, The Nanny Diaries) and Adam Schlesinger (Music & Lyrics), as well as a number of songs featured in the film. The soundtrack will be released on April 10, 2012 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Check out audio clips from all tracks on the album after the jump. Damsels in Distress is written and directed by Whit Stillman and stars Greta Gerwig, Adam Brody, Analeigh Tipton, Megalyn Echikunwoke, Carrie MacLemore and Hugo Becker. The comedy about a trio of beautiful girls who set out to revolutionize life at a grungy American university by helping severely depressed students with a program of good hygiene and musical dance numbers premiered at last year’s Toronto Film Festival and will be released in select cities on April 6 by Sony Pictures Classics. For updates on the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. “Damsels in Distress” Title Theme – Adam Schlesinger
2. Love Theme from “Damsels in Distress” – Mark Suozzo
3. The Sambola! International Dance Craze – Jeff Young and the World Sambola Chorus
4. Marching to Villafranca – Adam Schlesinger
5. Rainbow! – Adam Schlesinger
6. French Kiss – Mark Suozzo
7. Damsels Confidential – Mark Suozzo
8. Casta Diva from the opera Norma by Vincenzo Bellini – Mark Suozzo
9. Violet’s Theme – Mark Suozzo
10. Things Are Looking Up! – The Cast of “Damsels in Distress”
11. Silk & Satin – Mark Suozzo
12. Cathar Love Theme – Mark Suozzo
13. Beautiful Women Rejected – Adam Schlesinger
14. March of the Damsels – Mark Suozzo
15. Small Town Saturday Night – Hal Ketchum
16. Devil with Heart – Lucy Jules
17. Another Night – Real McCoy
18. Weekend Lover – Victoria Aitken

  1. Alix Hoquet says:

    What is THIS song? It’s the best song in the movie.
    00:30:05 – 00:30:50

    Right after the line “He’s really clear about his objectives. Dor’s great. He really wants to learn things.”

    Lyrics… “She a crazy little shake it up and ?? girl. She could even be the best thing in the world….” sounds a little like a violent femmes remix, but i don’t thin it is..

    Could be, from the movie’s actual credits, not on the soundtrack:

    Written by Jon Flores, Greedbagz Deluxxx & Guy Weltchek
    Produced & Performed by 4 track murdah