Polydor Records has announced that they will release the soundtrack to the comic book adaptation Kick-Ass on March 29 in Europe. A release date in the US has not been announced, but is expected to follow shortly. The soundtrack will feature a number of songs featured in the movie, as well as a track from Ennio Morricone’s For a Few Dollars More. The album also includes several quotes from the film’s characters. Film Music Reporter has learned that there are plans to release a separate score CD later on. The film’s composers are Ilan Eshkeri, Marius DeVries, Henry Jackman and John Murphy and the movie will be released on April 16 by Lionsgate. Composer Marius DeVries also serves as producer of the soundtrack CD along with David Reid. The album mixes punk rock from The Dickies and New York Dolls with Sparks’ alt pop alongside The Prodigy, Primal Scream and Brit-Award newcomer Ellie Goulding, all topped off by the King himself Elvis Presley. The soundtrack will also launch Taylor Momsen’s (Gossip Girl) new post-grunge band The Pretty Reckless. 

Here’s the tracklisting of the soundtrack CD:

  1. “I’m Kick-Ass”
  2. Stand Up – The Prodigy
  3. Kick Ass – Mika Vs Redone
  4. “I Never Said Batman”
  5. Can’t Go Back – Primal Scream
  6. There’s A Pot Brewin’ – The Little Ones
  7. “Bring It On!”
  8. Omen – The Prodigy
  9. “Butterfly Knife”
  10. Make Me Wanna Die – The Pretty Reckless
  11. “Mayor’s Office”
  12. Banana Splits – The Dickies
  13. Starry Eyed – Ellie Goulding
  14. This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us – Sparks
  15. “Who Would Win In A Fight…?”
  16. We’re All In Love – New York Dolls
  17. Bongo Song – Zongamin
  18. “I Never Play”
  19. Per Qualche Dollaro In Piu (For A Few Dollars More) – Ennio Morricone
  20. “No Power, No Responsibility”
  21. Bad Reputation – The Hit Girls
  22. An American Trilogy – Elvis Presley
  23. “Show’s Over…”