Plaza Mayor Company has released a soundtrack album for the Chinese drama The Best Is Yet to Come (Bu zhi bu xiu). The album features the film’s original music composed by Yoshihiro Hanno (Mountain May Depart, Spring Tide, Winter Boy). The soundtrack is now available to stream/download here, where you can also check out audio samples. The Best Is Yet to Come is directed by Wang Jing and stars White K, Miao Miao, Zhang Songwe and Song Yang. The movie is set in 2003, in the aftermath of the SARS epidemic, and follows an idealistic journalism intern in Beijing as he faces a choice between what is right and his financial future. The drama premiered at the 2020 Venice Film Festival and has just been released in Chinese theaters last month. No word on a domestic distribution deal.

Here’s the track list of the album:

1. Voices Chapter 1 & 2 (2:18)
2. Opening Theme (1:45)
3. Smuggle 1 & 2 (2:00)
4. Voices Chapter 3 (2:30)
5. Empty Landscape (2:46)
6. New Year (2:12)
7. Floating Pen Suits (3:22)
8. Smuggle 3 & 4 (2:19)
9. Dispair (3:30)
10. White (4:06)
11. The Best is Yet to Come (Main Theme) (3:43)
12. New Year (End Credit Long Version) (4:16)