Sony Legacy will release a soundtrack album for the documentary Summer of Soul (…Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised). The album (curated by Questlove) features a collection of the live recordings of classic songs from the movie by artists including B.B. King, The Staple Singers, The 5th Dimension, Nina Simone & others. The soundtrack will be released digitally and physically on January 28, 2022. Click here to order the digital version and visit Amazon to pre-order the CD edition. A first track (Sing a Simple Song by Sly & the Family Stone) is already available to stream/download now and can be checked out below. Summer of Soul is directed by Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson and presents unseen and largely forgotten footage from The Harlem Cultural Festival that was filmed in Mount Morris Park (now Marcus Garvey Park) over the course of six weeks in the summer of 1969, just one hundred miles south of Woodstock. The movie, which, premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and was released in theaters this summer by Searchlight Pictures and is now available to stream on Hulu.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Uptown – The Chambers Brothers
2. Why I Sing the Blues – B.B. King
3. Don’t Cha Hear Me Callin’ To Ya – The 5th Dimension
4. Aquarius / Let the Sunshine In – The 5th Dimension
5. My Girl – David Ruffin
6. Oh Happy Day – The Edwin Hawkins Singers
7. It’s Been A Change – The Staple Singers
8. Precious Lord, Take My Hand – The Operation Breadbasket Orchestra & Choir feat. Mahalia Jackson and Mavis Staples
9. I Heard It Through the Grapevine – Gladys Knight & The Pips
10. Watermelon Man – Mongo Santamaria
11. Together – Ray Barretto
12. Hold On, I’m Comin’ – Herbie Mann
13. Sing a Simple Song – Sly and the Family Stone
14. Everyday People -Sly and the Family Stone
15. Africa – Abbey Lincoln & Max Roach
16. Backlash Blues – Nina Simone
17. Are You Ready – Nina Simone