2021 Emmy Awards Nominations Announced

Posted: July 13, 2021 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music News

emmysThe nominations for the 73rd Emmy Awards were announced this morning. Here are the music-related categories:

Outstanding Music Composition for a Series (Original Dramatic Score):

Bridgerton – “Diamond Of The First Water” – Kris Bowers
Lovecraft Country – “Rewind 1921” – Laura Karpman & Raphael Saadiq
The Crown – “The Balmoral Test” – Martin Phipps
The Handmaid’s Tale – “The Crossing” – Adam Taylor
The Mandalorian – “Chapter 16: The Rescue” – Ludwig Goransson
This Is Us – “Birth Mother” – Siddhartha Khosla

Outstanding Music Composition for a Limited Series, Movie or a Special (Original Dramatic Score):

Fargo – “East/West” – Jeff Russo
Oslo – Jeff Russo & Zoe Keating
The Queen’s Gambit – “End Game” – Carlos Rafael Rivera
The Underground Railroad – “Chapter 2: South Carolina” – Nicholas Britell
WandaVision – “Previously On” – Christophe Beck

Outstanding Main Title Theme Music:

Allen v. Farrow – Michael Abels
Bridgerton – Kris Bowers & Michel Dean Parsons
Ted Lasso – Marcus Mumford & Tom Howe
The Flight Attendant – Blake Neely
WandaVision – Kristen Anderson=Lopez & Robert Lopez

Outstanding Music Composition for a Documentary Series or Special (Original Dramatic Score):

Allen v. Farrow – “Episode 4” – Michael Abels
American Masters : “Amy Tan: Unintended Memoir” – Kathryn Bostic
David Attenborough: A Life On Our Planet – Steven Price
The Social Dilemma – Mark Crawford
Tulsa Burning: The 1921 Race Massacre – Brandford Marsalis

Outstanding Music and Lyrics:

Bo Burnham: Inside – Song Title: Comedy – Bo Burnham (Music & Lyrics)
Soundtrack Of Our Lives – Song Title: The End Titles – Marc Shaiman (Music & Lyrics)
The Boys: “The Big Ride” – Song Title: Never Truly Vanish – Christopher Lennertz (Music & Lyrics) & Michael Saltzman (Lyrics)
The Queen’s Gambit: “Adjournment” – Song Title: I Can’t Remember Love – Anna Hauss & Robert Weinröder (Music) & William Horberg (Lyrics)
WandaVision: “Breaking The Fourth Wall” – Song Title: Agatha All Along” – Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez (Music & Lyrics)
Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist: “Zoey’s Extraordinary Birthday” – Song Title: Crimson Love – Harvey Mason Jr. & Andrew Hey (Music) & Austin Winsberg & Lindsey Rosin (Lyrics)

Outstanding Music Direction:

Billie Eilish: The World’s A Little Blurry – Aron Forbes (Music Director)
Bo Burnham: Inside – Bo Burnham (Music Director)
Celebrating America – An Inauguration Night Special – Rickey Minor (Music Director)
David Byrne’s American Utopia – Karl Mansfield (Music Director)
Zoey’s Extraordinary Playlist – Harvey Mason Jr. (Music Director)

Outstanding Music Supervision:

Bridgerton: “Diamond Of The First Water” – Alexandra Patsavas
Halston: “The Party’s Over” – Amanda Krieg Thomas, Alexis Martin Woodall & Ryan Murphy
I May Destroy You: “Ego Death” – Ciara Elwis & Matt Biffa
Lovecraft Country: “Strange Case” – Liza Richardson
The Crown: “Fairytale” – Sarah Bridge
The Queen’s Gambit: “Adjournment” – Randall Poster
WandaVision: “Don’t Touch That Dial” – Dave Jordan & Shannon Murphy

For the full list of nominations, visit Emmys.com.

  1. Ryan Serowinski says:

    Let’s go WandaVision!!!!

  2. JackS says:

    My absolute favs are WandaVision and The Mandalorian ❤💙