Studio Ghibli will release a soundtrack album for the animated feature Earwig and the Witch. The album features the film’s original music composed by Satoshi Takebe (From Up on Poppy Hill, The Adventures of Super Monkey, Ronja, the Robber’s Daughter). The soundtrack will be released digitally tomorrow, January 6 and will be available to stream/download on Amazon, where you can also check out audio samples. Earwig and the Witch is directed by Goro Miyazaki and features the voices of Richard E. Grant, Kacey Musgraves and Dan Stevens. The movie is based on the children’s novel by Diana Wynne Jones and follows the title character whose life changes dramatically when a strange couple takes her in and she is forced to live with a selfish witch and discovers a world of spells and potions. The Studio Ghibli production premiered in Japan on NHK last week and will receive a theatrical release in the U.S. later this year by GKIDS.

Here’s the album track list:

1. Opening (1:43)
2. A Ghost Party (1:12)
3. A Severed Head and the Martians (1:29)
4. It’s Up to You (0:59)
5. Do My Bidding (2:30)
6. A Strange Pair (1:23)
7. A Dirty Work (1:20)
8. Witch’s Job (1:39)
9. Exploring at Night – I’m Totally Stuck (1:50)
10. Work Myself to the Bone (1:21)
11. Talking to Myself (0:49)
12. Don’t Disturb Me (Radio Cassette Player Version) (3:58)
13. Late-Night Shift (1:17)
14. A Shepherd’s Pie (0:45)
15. I Won’t Give Up Easily (0:58)
16. Brewing Rage (1:41)
17. The Counterattack in an Invigorating Morning (1:14)
18. Strike Back Against a Counterattack (0:52)
19. The Best Ideas Come at the Worst Times (1:03)
20. Don’t Disturb Me (3:43)
21. Memories are Always Beautiful (1:08)
22. Got Them to Do My Bidding (1:42)
23. The World is in My Hands (3:54)

  1. Stina Bjork says:

    Phenom ! Excellent music.. Excellent anime.. So glad that the Miyazaki legacy lives on.