David Hirschfelder (ShineElizabethAustraliaThe Railway ManLegends of the Guardians) has composed the original music for the upcoming thriller Escape from Pretoria. The film is directed by Francis Annan and stars Daniel Radcliffe, Daniel Webber, Ian Hart, Mark Leonard Winter and Nathan Page. The movie tells the true story of freedom fighters Tim Jenkin and Stephen Lee, who were jailed in 1978 for being involved in covert anti-apartheid operations, as they attempt to break out from a maximum security South African jail. Annan also co-wrote the screenplay with LH Adam based on Jenkin’s autobiography Inside Out: Escape From Pretoria Prison. Gary Hamilton (Hotel Mumbai, First Reformed) & Michelle Krumm (The Spectacular Now) are producing the project for Arclight Films, alongside Mark Blaney & Jackie Sheppard (Africa United) for Footprint Films and David Barron (Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, Cinderella) for BeaglePug. Escape from Pretoria will be released in the U.S. in early 2020 by Momentum Pictures.

Hirschfelder’s other recent projects include Rachel Griffiths’ Ride Like a Girl, which opened in Australian theaters this fall and is currently awaiting a domestic release, as well as the Chinese/Australian action drama The Whistleblower, which just opened in China and select U.S. theaters last weekend.