Bryce Dessner of the rock band The National has composed the original music for the upcoming drama The Kitchen. The film marks the directorial debut of screenwriter Andrea Berloff (Straight Outta Compton, World Trade Center) and stars Melissa McCarthy, Tiffany Haddish, Elisabeth Moss, Domhnall Gleeson, James Badge Dale, Brian d’Arcy James, Margo Martindale, Common, Bill Camp, Jeremy Bobb, Alicia Coppola, John Sharian and Myk Watford. The movie is based on the Vertigo comic book series from DC Entertainment created by Ollie Masters & Ming Doyle and follows three 1978 Hell’s Kitchen housewives whose mobster husbands are sent to prison by the FBI and decide to take the Irish mafia’s matters into their own hands. Berloff also wrote the screenplay. Michael De Luca (The Social Network, Captain Phillips) and Marcus Viscidi (Fifty Shades of Grey, Rendition) are producing the New Line Cinema production. The Kitchen will be released in theaters nationwide on August 9, 2019 by Warner Bros. Pictures.

Dessner has also recently scored Fernando Mereilles’ Netflix original movie The Pope starring Jonathan Pryce & Anthony Hopkins (to be released later this year), as well as the Johnny Depp-starring drama The Professor which will open in select theaters and on VOD this Friday, May 17. He also recently co-scored the documentary What Will Become of Us, which just premiered at the 2019 Tribeca Film Festival.