Will Bates is composing the music for the upcoming Syfy original series Nightflyers. The show is developed by Jeff Buhler (Pet Sematary, Jacob’s Ladder) based on George R.R. Martin’s novella and the 1987 film of the same name and stars Eoin Macken, David Ajala, Sam Strike, Maya Eshet, Angus Sampson, Jodie Turner-Smith, Brian F. O’Byrne and Gretchen Mol. The drama is set in the year 2093 and follows a team of scientists aboard the Nightflyer, the most advanced ship ever built, as they embark on a journey to find other life forms. Buhler and Martin are also executive producing the Universal Cable production with show runner Daniel Cerone (The Blacklist, The Mentalist), Gene Klein & David Bartis (Suits, Covert Affair), Doug Liman (The Bourne Identity, Edge of Tomorrow), Alison Rosenzweig (Windtalkers) & Michael Gaeta and Lloyd Ivan Miller & Alice P. Neuhauser. Mike Cahill who previously collaborated with Bates on the features Another Earth, I Origins and TV shows such as The Path and The Magicians has directed the pilot episode. Nightflyers is set to premiere this fall in the U.S. on Syfy and in other territories on Netflix. Visit the official show website for updates.

Bates who also recently scored this year’s Hulu limited series The Looming Tower has also composed the music for the drama Hot Summer Nights starring Timothee Chalamet, Maika Monroe, Thomas Jane & Emory Cohen. The movie just premiered on DirecTV Cinema and will be released in select theaters on July 27 by A24.

  1. Sean says:

    Please, can you give us the name of the song we hear in the second half of this trailer and who sang it? Where can we find it?