kill-the-messengerBack Lot Music will release a soundtrack album for the thriller Kill the Messenger. The album features the film’s original music composed by Nathan Johnson (Looper, Brick, Don Jon, The Brothers Bloom). The soundtrack will be released on October 7, 2014 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Audio clips are embedded after the jump. Kill the Messenger is directed by Michael Cuesta, written by Peter Landesman and stars Jeremy Renner, Rosemarie DeWitt, Ray Liotta, Tim Blake Nelson, Barry Pepper, Oliver Platt, Michael Sheen, Paz Vega, Michael Kenneth Williams, Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Andy Garcia. The movie tells the true story of Pulitzer Prize-winning journalist Gary Webb who stumbled onto a story which lead to the shady origins of the men who started the crack epidemic on the nation’s streets. The thriller will be released nationwide this Friday, October 10 by Focus Features. To learn more about the film, visit the official movie website.

Here’s the album track list:

1. The War On Drugs (2:54)
2. Poking the Nest (1:40)
3. Gathering String (3:13)
4. Supply & Demand (4:53)
5. Inmate Potentate (1:23)
6. The Belly of the Beast (5:07)
7. Fair Warning (2:04)
8. The Calm Before the Storm (2:16)
9. Dark Alliance (6:46)
10. Intruders (4:11)
11. Off the Record (4:29)
12. Shockwave (3:28)
13. A Story Too True To Tell (2:30)
14. Epilogue (3:01)