‘Muscle Shoals’ Soundtrack Announced

Posted: September 13, 2013 by filmmusicreporter in Film Music Albums
Tags: ,

muscle-shoalsRepublic Records will release a soundtrack album for the documentary Muscle Shoals. The album includes the songs featured in the film by Aretha Franklin, Wilson Pickett, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Alicia Keys, Paul Simon, Etta James, Jimmy Hughes, Percy Sledge, and more. The soundtrack will be released physically and digitally on September 24, 2013 and is now available for pre-order on Amazon. Muscle Shoals is directed by Greg “Freddy” Camalier and tells the story of FAME Studios and Muscle Shoals Sound Studios, also known as the birthplace of some of rock ‘n’ roll’s and soul’s most iconic songs, located in Muscle Shoals, AL. The film premiered at this year’s Sundance Film Festival and was picked up by Magnolia Pictures for a domestic release on September 27, 2013, both in theaters and on VOD. To learn more about the documentary, visit the official movie website.

1. You Better Move On – Arthur Alexander
2. Steal Away – Jimmy Hughes
3. When a Man Loves a Woman – Percy Sledge
4. I Never Loved a Man (The Way I Love You) – Aretha Franklin
5. Tell Mama – Etta James
6. Patches – Clarence Carter
7. Hey Jude – Wilson Pickett
8. Free Bird – Lynyrd Skynyrd
9. I’ll Take You There – The Staple Singers
10. Sitting In Limbo – Jimmy Cliff
11. (Sometimes I Feel So) Uninspired – Traffic
12. Kodachrome – Paul Simon
13. Pressing On – Alicia Keys